The District
News & Events
Service Opportunities

Shenandoah District
Church of the Brethren

P.O. Box 67
1453 Westview School Road

Weyers Cave, VA   24486
Phone:  540.234.8555
Toll Free:  888.308.8555
Fax:  540.234.8333

Contact Us

Brethren Woods
Camp & Retreat Center

4896 Armentrout Path
Keezletown, VA   22832
Phone & Fax: 540.269.2741

Contact Camp

Come See Us!
Click on the link below for directions and a map to our office. Read More

Pulpit Supply -

January 2018

(updated 1/22/2018)


District Conference

Nov. 2 & 3 at Antioch Church of the Brethren

The 2018 Shenandoah District Conference, continuing the 2017 theme of On Christ the Solid Rock We Stand, will convene on Friday and Saturday, Nov. 2 and 3, hosted by Antioch Church of the Brethren (23502 Senedo Road, Woodstock).
The schedule includes continuing education for pastors, recognition of ordained ministers, a Friday evening worship with a 60-voice children's choir and cello accompaniment, four brief worship services on Saturday morning and a business session with serious items to consider (including constitution revisions and electing officers for the coming year). And ice cream will be featured on Friday evening!
More detail is available by clicking here for a conference overview.
And, remember, on Oct. 21, from 4-6 p.m. at Pleasant Valley Church of the Brethren (91 Valley Church Road, Weyers Cave), our delegate briefing will be held. Plan to attend to gain more insight on the issues before the conference.
And, remember, too, that delegates, alternates and non-delegates need to register for conference by Oct. 17. Click here for the registration form.

District Forms

Blue Ribbon Committee

(Renamed District Discernment Team)

A Blue Ribbon Committee, whose formation was announced at the 2017 Shenandoah District Conference, has been organized and has begun its work. As planned, the 10-member committee will meet through 2018, focusing on ways our congregations can covenant anew to work together through divisions that threaten our unity as followers of Christ.

The committee is chaired by Jon Prater, pastor of the Mt. Zion/Linville Church of the Brethren and immediate past chair of the District Leadership Team. Joining him on the committee are Jonathan Brush (Lebanon), Heather Driver (Bridgewater), Hobert Harvey (Bethel/Mayland), Terry Jewell (Knights Chapel), LaDawn Knicely (Beaver Creek), David R. Miller (Montezuma), Carter Myers (Mill Creek), Nate Rittenhouse (New Hope) and Karen Shiflet (Mt. Bethel). The committee also will be served by three ex-officio members and three consultants.

Click here for the full description of the purpose, tasks and structure of the committee.

Click here for District Executive Minister John Jantzi's August pastor letter referenced in the previous document.

Click here for the minutes from the Committee's first meeting on Feb. 25, 2018.

Click here for minutes from the March 18, 2018, meeting.

Click here for minutes from the April 15, 2018, meeting.

Click here for minutes from the May 20, 2018, meeting.

Click here for the Discernment Team's report: "Congregational Withdrawal Process"

Is Hospitality YOUR Gift?

The Shenandoah District is developing a list of potential hosts when guests are in the District and need (or prefer) home-based lodging. If you have an extra bedroom and could offer a light breakfast to overnight guests, please fill out the host form below. It can be emailed to or mailed to Shenandoah District CoB, PO Box 67, Weyers Cave, Va., 24486.

Hospitality Host Form

You will always have the final say on whether to extend hospitality when the need arises. Thank you!


<< November 2018 >>
4 5 7 8 9 10
11 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 24
25 26 28 29 30
Events for 11/13/2018
Empowered by Extend, a church software solution from